First solvation shell of polymer electrolytes: PEO4:KSCN

Main Article Content

Sittichai Kulawong
Jittima Chaodamrongsakul


The local structure of potassium ions were investigated, using experimental measurement of the Extended X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (EXAFS) spectra. This method gives more important information at the atomistic scale including the distance (r) between atom pair around the probed ion and coordination number (N). The coordination number, distances and the Debye-Waller factor (2) of the first shell were focused. EXAFS results revealed that ether oxygen of poly(ethylene oxide); PEO were induced by potassium ion to form an local structure. The first solvation shell in the EXAFS fittings of PEO4:KSCN consists of five oxygen atoms and two nitrogen atoms.

Article Details

Research Articles


P.G. Bruce, C.A. Vincent, Journal of the Chemical Society, Faraday Transactions, 89 (1993) 3187-3203.

W. Preechatiwong, J.M. Schultz, Polymer, 37 (1996) 5109-5116.

R.C. Agrawal, G.P. Pandey, Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics, 41 (2008) 223001.

S. Chintapalli, R. Frech, B. Grady, Polymer, 38 (1997) 6189-6195.

P. Johansson, J. Tegenfeldt, J. Lindgren, Polymer, 40 (1999) 4399-4406.

E. Quartarone, P. Mustarelli, A. Magistris, Solid State Ionics, 110 (1998) 1-14.

J.Y. Song, Y.Y. Wang, C.C. Wan, Journal of Power Sources, 77 (1999) 183-197.

F.B. Dias, L. Plomp, J.B.J. Veldhuis, Journal of Power Sources, 88 (2000) 169-191.

A. Chandra, S. Chandra, Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics, 27 (1994) 2171-2179.

A. Bernson, J. Lindgren, W. Huang, R. Frech, Polymer, 36 (1995) 4471-4478.

M. Xu, E.M. Eyring, S. Petrucci, Solid State Ionics, 83 (1996) 293-300.

C.P. Rhodes, R. Frech, Macromolecules, 34 (2001) 1365-1368.

P. Lightfoot, M.A. Mehta, P.G. Bruce, Journal of Materials Chemistry, 2 (1992) 379-381.

P. Lightfoot, M.A. Mehta, P.G. Bruce, Science, 262 (1993) 883-885.

P. Lightfoot, J.L. Nowinski, P.G. Bruce, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 116 (1994) 7469-7470.

J. Chaodamrongsakul, K. Merat, W. Klysubun, V. Vao-soongnern, Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids, 379 (2013) 21-26.

J. Chaodamrongsakul, W. Klysubun, V. Vao-soongnern, Materials Chemistry and Physics, 143 (2014) 1508-1516.

M.A. Ratner, D.F. Shriver, Chemical Reviews, 88 (1988) 109-124.

C.R.A. Catlow, A.V. Chadwick, G.N. Greaves, L.M. Moroney, M.R. Worboys, Solid State Ionics, 9-10 (1983) 1107-1113.

J. McBreen, X.Q. Yang, H.S. Lee, Y. Okamoto, Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 142 (1995) 348-354.

H. Cai, R. Hu, T. Egami, G.C. Farrington, W.S. Schlindwein, R.J. Latham, R.G. Linford, R. Pynenburg, Electrochimica Acta, 37 (1992) 1663-1665.

H.M.N. Bandara, W.S. Schlindwein, R.J. Latham, R.G. Linford, Journal of the Chemical Society, Faraday Transactions, 90 (1994) 3549-3553.

R.G. Linford, Chemical Society Reviews, 24 (1995) 267-277.

B. Ravel, M. Newville, Journal of Synchrotron Radiation, 12 (2005) 537-541.

J.J. Rehr, R.C. Albers, Reviews of Modern Physics, 72 (2000) 621